BROKEN DREAMS

 

If

Sometimes I wish you hadn’t spoken

Sometimes I wish you had just kept your pretty mouth shut

Standing right across me, looking so fine it felt wrong

Your clothes fit so well –  like you’d been sewn into them

And I felt the strongest urge to be near you

 

Sometimes I wish you hadn’t spoken

Sometimes I wish you hadn’t killed my dream

You should have let me enjoy living in it too

Your eyes tore at me, stripping me naked

And I have never felt so vulnerable

 

Sometimes I wish you hadn’t spoken

Sometimes I wish I had walked away

When you started walking towards me

But my heart was racing so fast

And my feet trembled so much they could hardly hold me

 

Sometimes I wish you hadn’t spoken

Sometimes I wish I could erase the memory of you

Saying “mlembo nimekusheki arr night”- (beautiful, I have been watching you all night)

Shut up! For Christ’s sake! Shut the hell up! Is all I could think of

And as good as your intentions may have been you just killed my dream.imagesCAZG3B5G

One thought on “BROKEN DREAMS

Leave a Reply

