CHECKING IN

At the university, International students are required to check – in every week so that it can go into record that they are attending their classes. I have nothing against checking in because it makes sure that students are where they are supposed to be as they are being sponsored by the  university to be in the country but whenever I think about it, I also think about how we are expected to sign in in relationships.

download (1)

How many have tried ending a conversation with their partners without an I love you? It is like opening a can of worms because how dare you? Don’t you know you have to profess your love as many times as possible?It doesn’t matter how swamped you are at work or at home taking care of the children, text lovey- dovey messages in between changing the diapers and trying to calm a child crying their lungs off, don’t forget the food in the pan is almost burning but no you have to check in otherwise…they will think you are cheating.

Personally I find it demanding and tiring. Some of you may disagree and say that when you truly love someone you need to declare your love for them as much as possible. Why don’t you just take a pillow and smother me instead. I know that is harsh but just the idea of checking in every few seconds sickens me.

This kills spontaneity that keeps relationships interesting as you can set your clock to your partner’s behavior.  I on the other hand prefer finding little notes and actions  when I least expect it.

I am a sucker for the unknown and trying to figure out what he will do next makes me love him even more

Leave a Reply

