ALL ABOARD

train-station-glamorous-woman-leaving-with-suitcase-retro-goodbye-mysterious-lady

I tried to hold on to your hand as you got on the train

I tried to hold on to that moment as much as I could

Heaven knows I DID NOT WANT TO LET GO

And so I held on even tighter with all my might

But your hand slid over my fingers and the doors shut

 

I tried to run alongside the train as it left the platform

I waived my hands hysterically

Trying to catch your attention

Before it could leave the station

But I guess you were too busy trying to find your position

 

I closed my eyes forcing the tears back in

And hugged myself so tight it hurt

Happy thoughts, happy thoughts…I willed

As I hung on to the memory of you kissing me goodbye

With me tiptoeing while stroking the back of your head

 

Drawing strength from that I rose up

And as I dusted myself off

I caught sight of you looking at me

And as you blew me a kiss

My heart sunk even further

One thought on “ALL ABOARD

Leave a Reply

